Bill Goggins Award

In 1989 WQHA member Bill Goggins was killed in an automobile accident shortly before that year's awards banquet. At the banquet that year, Bill would have been receiving his very first WQHA award as the WQHA High Point Novice Amateur Western Pleasure exhibitor. Bill's family requested that the award be given to Darrel Holman who was the reserve winner that year. Bill, Darrel and Jerry Pappendorf all competed together that year and called themselves 'the over the hill gang'. They had a lot of fun showing together, and Bill made a lot of WQHA friends while at the shows that year. Bill was in his fifties when he decided to learn to ride and pursue his dream of showing horses. He was the President of Wausau Paper Corporation and always said that the worst day that he had at a horse show was better than any day at his office, although he was pretty colorful in the way he said it. Bill's family was never into horses but supported his addiction, and continued to show his horses even after he died because they felt it would have made him happy.


Award Winners

2018 – Lori Rippa Reilly & Decidedly A Diva

2017 – Melissa Baker & Dun A Little Lazy

2016 - Alexandria Zunker & One Chocolate Night

2015 - Bobbi Kelley & Doctor Evil

2014 - Marcia Kramer Smith - Investinalooatme

2013 - Madalyn Werner - No Time To Sizzle

2012 - Madalyn Werner

2011 - Scott Kohlmann

2010 - Lisa Prinsen

2009 - Joe Spak 

2008 - Lynette Helbach

2007 - Joe Spak

2006 - Nicole Langohr

2005 - Elizabeth Widmer

2004 - Dan Leintz

2003 - Jow Whitt

2002 - Janice Moll

2001 - Christine Welk

2000 - Francine Weatherway

1999 - Stacy Wunderlich

1998 - Kerry Surk

1997 - Wendy Taylor

1996 - Chris Lang

1995 - Sally Ann Miller

1994 - Beverly Kirch

1993 - Cindy Rudee

1992 - Susan Kent

1991 - Darrell Holman

1990 - Madga Nelson

1989 - Darrell Holman